Portola Tigers capture three of four first place wins

Shannon Morrow 

Portola sophomore Emma Briggs weaves in toward the basket against two Modoc defenders .

Sports Editor

The Portola High School boys’ and girls’ varsity basketball teams each won first place at the Tiger Classic, the annual tournament hosted by Portola last Thursday through Saturday, Dec. 9-11.

In addition to Portola’s varsity teams going 3-0, the Portola girls’ junior varsity team also won all three of its games, giving Portola the championship in three of the four divisions.

Boys’ varsity

Portola opened with a 58-47 win over Modoc Thursday night. The following day, the Tigers posted a 67-48 victory over Quincy, and closed with a 55-9 drumming of Loyalton last Saturday.

The Quincy Trojans finished with a 1-2 record, after beating Loyalton 53-33 and losing to Modoc 45-31.

Portola’s Mario Rodriguez was named MVP. All-tournament awards went to Kyle Heskett and Ricky Lowdermilk of Portola and Justin Lusk of Quincy.

Lusk also won the boys’ varsity three-point competition.


Girls’ varsity

The Lady Tigers won their division, as they beat Modoc 50-30, Quincy 51-42 and Loyalton 45-10.

Quincy took second place with a 2-1 record. The Trojans defeated Loyalton 67-35 and bested Modoc 50-34.

Emma Briggs earned the MVP for Portola. All-tourney selections included Portola’s Marissa Wehrman and Anna Roach and Quincy’s Korey Cline and Ashlee Neiman.


Boys’ JV

Portola finished 1-2 and Quincy went 0-3 in boys’ junior varsity competition, after Portola beat Quincy 57-22. Modoc won the division.

Flint Fambrough received an all-tournament selection for Portola and Jack Flanigan was chosen to represent Quincy.

Flanigan also won the three-point competition in the boys’ junior varsity division.


Girls’ JV

Portola’s junior varsity girls finished on top by winning 46-38 against Loyalton, 41-18 against Quincy and 49-14 against Modoc.

Quincy went 1-2, with a 34-25 victory over Modoc.

Portola’s Kaitlyn Boyd was named MVP. Teammate Rachel Wehrman won the free-throw contest and Casey Pearson took the three-point competition.

  • Search area
    • Site
    • Web
  • Search type
    • Web
    • Image
    • News
    • Video
  • Power by JLex